G.L. Morrison

I love hearing that she was smiling at the thought of flying and that she had the support of people who knew and loved her in her final moments before take-off. (But how could she not? Judy was superb at bringing people together. Judy was simply superb. I love you, Judy.

–G.L.

excerpts from Night Flight (poem by Judy Freespirit)

On the night of our parting we lie
fat dyke birds …
your fingers press shafts of fire
into my soft and hungry flesh. I suck
your touches deep into my every crevice
as we fly, my love,
we fly.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth Keir
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 06:34:46

    Thanks so much for the exerpt. I have read it and heard Judy read it so many times. How fitting to read it tonight….

    Reply

  2. G.L. Morrison
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 05:15:11

    I’ve written a lot of Judy memorializing since I heard of her death but so much of it seems raw and self-pitying to me. It’s frustrating the more someone means to you the more complicated that sharing is. I feel defensive, even proprietary, of my Judy memories and yet it seems a betrayal not to feed whoever is starved for her. (And sipping at them alone in the dark does nothing to sate my own hunger for her.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

