Sage Skog

Hi Max, et all!

Thanks for this blog, Max. So great to hear of you now and then through the grapevine. We had fun back in the day in Albuquerque.

I was at a memorial service for my dear friend Judith Stein’s mother yesterday and Judith told me that Judy Freespirit had just died the other day.

I was so sad to hear this as I have known of Judy Freespirit for years and one time wrote to her to thank her for her activism and her writings. I read “Shadow on a Tightrope” by Judy back in the Eighties and loved it.

Judy has touched the lives of many lesbians over the years and she was a true pioneer for Fat Activism. She will be greatly missed.

Thanks for everything, Judy.

Sage Skog(aka Sage Desertdyke)
Boston, MA

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Bock
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 23:26:58

    A ROSH HASHANAH MEMORY
    Definitions:
    shayna – pretty
    punim – face

    It was a Rosh Hashanah many years ago. I planned to attend an event at the San Francisco Women’s Building where I knew I would run into Judy Freespirit. She and I were founding members of Fat Lip Readers Theater working hard for the cause. She was someone for whom I had trememdous respect, some awe, and to be honest, she intimidated me a bit by her force and spirit. I wanted to be thought well of by her–cool, savvy, smart.

    Growing up in a secular Jewish familiy, I was new to the rituals and practices of Rosh Hashanah. A good friend taught me how to say Happy New Year in Hebrew–L’Shana Tova–and I practiced and practiced in anticipation of going to the event and greeting Judy with my oh-so-smoothe salutation.

    When I saw her, I eagerly approached her and said, “La Shayna Nova, La Shayna Nova!”

    She smiled and twinkled and replied, “And a pretty car to you, too!”

    I was mortified. My attempt to impress left me with egg on my punim.

    Several years later, I attended Judy’s one woman show, also at the women’s building. She had asked Sylvia Kohan to be her singing coach, for it appeared that Judy was nervous and self-conscious about singing in public.
    The performancee was, of course, wonderful and her singing delightful.

    Now, the impossible has happened. Judy died last Friday. Yes, we have her extraordinary writing; yes, we have her papers preserved and her oral history videotaped; yes, we have our memories. It’s not enough. We no longer have her corporeal magnificence, her hearty laugh, her ironic humor, and her creative and uncompromising politics.

    Sylvia, open your arms. Here comes Judy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

