Elena Moser

I first met Judy in 1980.  I had recently moved to the Bay Area to go to graduate school and I called her after seeing a flyer for Fat Lip Readers Theatre.  Judy was a beautiful combination of fierce and soft and I always marveled at her capacity to hold her position while staying passionately engaged with the other person.  I loved her poetry, especially about food and Jewish food especially.  One of my favorite lines from “So, what is Jewish food anyway” which comes after a list of things like bagels and lox and noodle kugel… is “and Pepsi Cola and Clark Bars.  Pepsi Cola and Clark Bars?   Yes, when you are a Jewish kid whose mother loves Pepsi Cola and Clark Bars that is Jewish food too.”

I am glad to have been on the planet with you Judy,

With Love,

Elena Moser

Leave a Reply

